2016 Awards Winners

Lifetime Achievement Award

Kandeh K. Yumkella, UN Under-Secretary-General and Former Special Representative of the Secretary-General and CEO, Sustainable Energy for All (SE4All), Sierra Leone


  • Akinwole Omoboriowo II, Chairman & CEO, Genesis Energy, Nigeria
  • Albert Butare, CEO & Chairman, Africa Energy Services Group Ltd, Rwanda
  • Anton Eberhard, Professor, Graduate School of Business, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Elham Mahmood Ahmed Ibrahim, Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy, African Union, Ethiopia
  • Grania Rosette Rubomboras, Program Officer: Power Projects, Nile Basin Initiative NELSAP, Uganda
  • Hamanth Kasan, General Manager: Scientific Services Water, Rand Water, South Africa
  • Henry Paul Batchi Baldeh, Senior Vice President/Head: Power, Africa Finance Corporation, Nigeria
  • Hindpal S. Jabbal, Former Chairman, Energy Regulatory Commission, Kenya
  • Jacob Kow Mensah, Clean and Alternative Energy Researcher/Inventor, Sustainable Energy and Environment Project, Ghana

Power Utility of the Year

Sponsored by:

City Power, South Africa


  • Ghana Grid Company Limited, Ghana
  • KenGen, Kenya
  • Kenya Power and Lighting Company Limited, Kenya
  • Volta River Authority, Ghana

Power Utility Executive of the Year

Sponsored by:

Albert Mugo, MD & CEO KenGen, Kenya

  • Ben K Chumo, MD & CEO, Kenya Power and Lighting Company Limited, Kenya  
  • Phillip Dukashe, Project Director, Eskom, South Africa   
  • Selestino Babungi, MD & CEO, Umeme, Uganda               
  • William Amuna, CEO, GRIDCo, Ghana    

Water Utility of the Year

Sponsored by:

National Water & Sewerage Corporation, Uganda


  • Moshi Urban Water and Sewerage Authority, Tanzania
  • Nairobi City Water and Sewerage Company, Kenya
  • Rand Water, South Africa
  • Umgeni Water, South Africa

Water Utility Executive of the Year

Philip Gichuki, Managing Director, Nairobi City Water and Sewerage Company, Kenya 


  • David Onyango, Managing Director, Kisumu Water & Sewerage, Kenya  
  • Silver Mugisha, Managing Director, National Water & Sewerage Corporation, Uganda    

Clean Energy Project of the Year

Sponsored by:

Akon Lighting Africa, Various Countries


  • ACWA Power, Solafrica Bokpoort Concentrated Solar Power Project, South Africa
  • Mobisol, Off-grid solar system, Tanzania
  • NVI Energy, “Pay as you use” Solar Project, Kenya
  • Vuselela Energy, Eternity Power Thermal Harvesting™, South Africa

Pioneer in Project Finance

Development Bank of Southern Africa


  • African Development Bank
  • Danida Business Finance
  • FMO
  • International Finance Corporation & Overseas Private Investment Corporation

Community Development Project of the Year

Noble Water Solutions, South Africa


  • Akon Lighting Africa, Various Countries
  • Eco-fuel Africa Limited, Uganda
  • Magiro Hydroelectric, Kenya
  • Solar Sister, Uganda, Tanzania

Future Leader Award

Michael Njoroge, CEO, Multi-link Group Ltd, Kenya


  • Chimaobi Daniel NNA, Research Officer 1, Energy Commission of Nigeria
  • Jarrad Wright, Principal Researcher/Engineer, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, South Africa              
  • Loda Dedekind, Associate: Power Generation, Aurecon, South Africa                    
  • Lungile Mashele, Sector Specialist: Energy, Development bank of Southern Africa, South Africa
  • Siya Xuza, Founder and Managing Director, Galactic Energy Ventures, South Africa
  • Werner van Antwerpen Head: Utilities & Sustainability Growthpoint Properties, South Africa      

Power/Water Woman of the Year

Sponsored by: 

Phyllis Engefu Ombonyo, Director: Business Development, National Environment Trust Fund, Kenya 


  • Bertha Dlamini, Managing Director, EON Consulting, South Africa
  • Grania Rosette Rubomboras, Program Officer: Power Projects, Nile Basin Initiative/NELSAP, Uganda
  • Jasandra Nyker, Chief Executive Officer, BioTherm Energy, South Africa               
  • Rose Kaggwa, Director Business & Scientific Services, National Water and Sewerage Corporation,  Uganda
  • Rudo Angela Sanyanga, Africa Program Director, International Rivers, South Africa          
  • Tlaleng Moabi, Managing Director Enzani Technologies, South Africa     

Energy/Water Efficiency Project of the Year

George Airport Solar Plant, Airports Company South Africa, South Africa


  • Bayside Mall, Growthpoint Properties, South Africa
  • CitiCall, Analog, South Africa
  • Hotel Verde, South Africa
  • King Shaka International Airport, Airports Company South Africa, South Africa
  • Network Upgrade and Street Lighting Project, Kenya Power, Kenya
  • Upper Grayston Block F, Tower Property Fund, South Africa
  • V&A Waterfront Solar Farm, V&A Waterfront & Sustainable Power Solutions, South Africa

Innovation Hub

Sponsored by: 

Runner up

  • Ekasi Energy


  • Aquaponic Farmer (Pty) Ltd
  • Bontle Ke Tlhago
  • D&C Technologies (Pty) Ltd
  • Garth Middleton
  • GCX Africa
  • HeliosLite
  • Mobile4Energy
  • SAGIFON Technologies
  • SeeSaw
  • Solarus
  • TDS Innovations
  • WHC
  • Upande

Awards verified by:

To book your seat for 2017 contact us