DIGITAL EVENT: 24-26 November 2020 
 LIVE EVENT: 11-13 May 2021 | CTICC | Cape Town

Hero Subpage

Hero Subpage

Loading

African Women in Energy: Social enterprise opportunities in the energy transition

21 Sep 2020
African Women in Energy

14:00 GMT | 15:00 WAT | 16:00 CAT | 17:00 EAT

Social enterprise initiatives offering training to women in rural Africa to distribute clean energy leaves them with not only an electricity source but also a business to boot.  This session will project and case study findings to the forefront.

 

The discussion will look to answer:

• What challenges do women face when they either start or join social enterprise?

• What is your advice for those looking to start an energy company with a social enterprise objective?

• What are the rewards of social enterprise?

• What opportunities does the energy transition open up for women in Africa?

Access the recording here

Chairperson
Anita Nana Okuribido, Chairman - Women In Sustainable Power Africa (WISPAnet)
Speakers
David Wanjau, Managing Director - Deevabits Green Energy
Olasimbo Sojinrin, Country Director - Solar Sister
Zipporah Gakaya , Project Development Officer & Technical Partner - USADF, Kenya, Cezam and Associates Limited

FACTS AND FIGURES FROM AFRICAN UTILITY WEEK & POWERGEN AFRICA

  • 10000
    ATTENDEES
  • 82
    COUNTRIES
  • 82
    UTILITIES & MUNICIPALITIES
  • 360
    EXHIBITORS

 

 

Host Ministry

  • Ministry of Energy South Africa

Host Utility

  • Eskom

Host City

  • Host City

Municipal Leaders Forum Partners

  • SALGA
  • NTIYISO

Platinum Sponsor

  • Landis + Gyr
  • Conlog
  • Actom Pty Ltd

 

Silver Sponsor

  • Akilee
  • Nyamezela Metering (Pty) Ltd
  • Huawei Technologies Africa (Pty) Ltd
  • Ntiyiso Consulting






 

CEO Forum Partners

  • Conlog
  • Eaton
  • Lucy Electric
  • Nyamazela
  • APUA
  • ALSF
  • Prime Alliance
  • Oracle






 

Global Knowledge Partner

  • Enel Foundation

 

Host Publication

  • ESI Africa